Whole 30: Day 5

I’m not going to lie…I’ve been in a haze lately. I don’t know if it’s the pain medication for my knee, the caffeine withdrawals or the lack of sugary foods. I’ve just been trying to get through some 10 hour shifts while trying to survive a little bit of a cold and my knee deciding to frequently swell up and feel like someone is stabbing me.

On a side note, I start Sports Therapy next week to (hopefully!) rehab my knee so I can (maybe one day?) run again. This has become a whole to-do, with x-rays and doctors appointments and emailing back and forth to doctors. It’s just frustrating getting hurt.

On the up-side, we are going to go look at an alternative wedding venue next weekend! While we did love Arrowhead, we both decided it was a good idea to look at other places as well, just to get a good idea of what’s possible to do within the next year. I’m also heading down to Fullerton on the 3rd to get fitted for my dress! (I love it!) I never thought I would like anything other than a white dress, but I absolutely adore the (subtle) blush-pink dress I picked out! Can’t wait!!

Back to the Whole 30 Challenge…
Whole 30

Anyway, I’m pretty sure I’ve at least lost an inch or two. I know at this point, it’s probably just water-weight, but it feels good to see at least a little progress after months of frustration. It’s been extremely difficult the last couple days at work, because they’re pushing us to work as much as we can the next couple weeks to end the quarter, and that means the QAs are having an all-out feast of stress-foods. I’ve had to turn down cake 3 times this week, brownies once, donuts twice and cupcakes three times. My coworkers now know that Holly is on a “diet” and offering her miscellaneous foods is off the table. It’s actually really sweet. No pun intended.
0917150823

I had my first cranky-day yesterday, where in the morning I was annoyed by everyone and everything that crossed my path. My neighbors put up Halloween decorations, I was annoyed. Someone offered to walk my work over to be checked, I was annoyed. Someone interrupted my audiobook, I was…well, you get the point. I was a dragon waiting to attack. Good thing that only lasted two hours, or I probably would have ended up with some pretty ticked off people.

Diet and overtime aside, I came to a realization this week. I had applied for a higher up position than I was at, that I knew I had a really good chance of getting. I did the phone interview, polished up my resume, and put it all out there. It would have been more hours, more work and a learning curve, but it was something fulfilling that I would have fit into nicely. The only thing? I really like my job. I was sad at the prospect of leaving a position I worked so hard to get to, around people I generally enjoy. I feel like I’m in a good place right now, with balance and support, and that it’s probably a good place to stay until I finish school. Sure, there’s drama. What workplace doesn’t have it? But I’ve come to realize that I could stay here, if need be, for a couple years.

So, that’s it for tonight. I’ve got to knock out so I can get my overtime in tomorrow!

25 more days to go of this crazy diet!

Signature

Leave a Reply

